Raven haven

I have an idea to set up an aviary for ravens inside an abandoned hospital. There will be little plastic feeding trays fixed to the walls of peeling paint and crumbling plaster. And when the ravens get big enough, they will fly off, one by one, to settle in the local area (somewhere in south London). (01/06/09)

10 Responses to “Raven haven”

  1. fellhouse Says:

    Do you dream like this all the time? They (the dreams) are extraordinary.

  2. nicholasroyle Says:

    I don’t know because I can’t remember most of what I dream. Maybe that stuff is ordinary and I realise I don’t need to make the effort to remember it.

  3. Wendigo81 Says:

    Reminds me of the legends of ravens being psychopomps. Here in Canada, the Raven is a sacred bird so to dream of it means that your ancestors are sending you an important message.

    • nicholasroyle Says:

      Have you ever seen one, Wendigo? They are wonderful birds. So big and so black and yet so playful. Incidentally, I decommissioned the Wankers Shelf. I kept some of the books, which will be integrated into the main library, and gave the others to Oxfam.

  4. Wendigo81 Says:

    Oh, I know the Raven well.

    Although my Totem is the Bear and I dream of her when the Manitou needs to speak to me, in wake-time, I live my life surrounded by ravens. When it gets to minus 50 degrees here, the birds cannot fly so the ravens troop along in a murder ( does this collective noun apply only to the Crow, I wonder?) side-by-side on the highways. When it is that cold, these clever corvids are the only sign of life. They are so intelligent that we have special ‘houses’ for our garbage cans, for the ravens have figured out how to open the regular, unprotected garbage can. They use tactics, such as spitting grit, to distract you when you put the garbage out, hoping for a quick and easy feast.

    My ancestors would sometimes split the tame raven’s tongue to encourage it to speak in the tipi.

    I am glad about the wankers shelf and Oxfam – it confirms for me my belief in you as a gentleman and a kind soul,

    Happy Dreaming Raven Son,

    love Wendigo,

  5. myshittytwenties Says:

    Is that THE abandoned hospital?

  6. nicholasroyle Says:

    This time it was a non-specific abandoned hospital.

  7. nicholasroyle Says:

    Wendigo: it’s a conspiracy of ravens or, even better, an unkindness of ravens. Murder seems to be reserved for crows. Corvids generally do seem to be quite clever.

  8. Wendigo81 Says:

    An “Unkindness of Ravens”?: I think your totems may be gifting you the title of your next short story…

  9. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

