White coat

I submit to a psychological/psychiatric test in a room that takes a long time to get to in an old building with lots of stairs and corridors. I hadn’t necessarily committed to this before I get there, but once in the room I decide to do it. On one side of the room there’s a pan of water heating up that I sense will be used for some kind of test, though I can’t imagine what. On the other side, something more traditional, though I can’t remember what that is either. The male doctor is wearing a white coat and there’s at least one woman in the room as well.

After we have been using the conventional equipment for a while, I sense that it’s time to turn to the simmering water, which has now turned into a shimmering computer screen. It seems to be showing an image from a CCTV camera and I wonder if the doctor has access to CCTV cameras to show me what I’ve been up to outside in the town before entering the building. I try to remember what I did get up to. Nothing untoward, I don’t think.

I enter a hairdresser’s shop. I know some of the barbers who work here, but none is present today. Nevertheless, I issue a breezy, confident greeting and walk straight through the salon and out the back to the rear of the building.

Earlier, I’d been outside somewhere in an empty, flat northern landscape, possibly playing some kind of game. There had been two small rainbows in the sky, but alongside each other, not one within the other. (17/07/09)

Leave a Reply

